Red Clocks

Red Clocks

Leni Zumas

ISBN
9780008209834
Pub date
01/01/1900
Imprint
The Borough Press
Binding
Paperback
Format
Trade Paperback Short Royal 153x221mm
Extent
368 pages
Price
£12.99

Book Overview


Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro’s best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling homeopath, or “mender,” who brings all their fates together when she’s arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID’S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous – even frightening – times.

About the author


Leni Zumas is the author of the story collection F

Reviews


‘Intense, beautifully crafted…Her talent is electr