Red Clocks

Red Clocks

Leni Zumas

ISBN
9780008209834
Pub date
08/03/2018
Imprint
The Borough Press
Binding
Paperback
Format
Trade Paperback Short Royal 153x221mm
Extent
368 pages
Price
£12.99

Book Overview


Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro’s best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling homeopath, or “mender,” who brings all their fates together when she’s arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID’S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous – even frightening – times.

About the author


Leni Zumas is the author of the story collection Farewell Navigator and the novel The Listeners, which was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award. She is an associate professor in the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Portland State University.

Reviews


‘Intense, beautifully crafted…Her talent is electric. Get ready for a shock’ Guardian

‘Timing is everything – and the release of Red Clocks couldn’t be more apt’ Grazia

‘A fearless novel with a frightening premise that seems plausible. One for fans of Naomi Alderman’s The Power’ Stylist

‘Lyrical and beautifully observed … highly absorbing’ Naomi Alderman, author of The Power

‘Necessary and so of the moment … this is your go-to book in 2018’ Elle

‘Terrifyingly real’ The Pool

‘Vividly imagined’ Sunday Times

‘Sharp, bold, funny’ Esquire

‘Powerful, beautifully written (and, at times, wry and funny) … Red Clocks is set to become one of the essential reads for 2018’ Emerald Street

‘This provocative exploration of female longing, frustration and determination couldn’t be more timely, and yet there’s nothing fleeting about it … Zumas has written a novel that’s political without being doctrinaire, that expands the dimensions of our most pressing social debate’ Washington Post

‘The dystopian feminist novel for a new generation and a story that will rev you up to be part of the resistance’ Refinery29

‘In bristling sentences that strike with stunning efficiency, Leni Zumas shows girls and women defying the excruciating restrictions imposed by both law and culture. This is not only timely but necessary fiction—uncannily prescient, unabashedly political, and fiercely humane. We so desperately need books like this’ Emily Fridlund, author of History of Wolves

‘Hilarious, terrifying, and masterful–this pitch-perfect, timely novel reflects the horror and absurdity of our political landscape with a brilliance that ensures the book’s timelessness. It’s as riotously fun as it is chilling. Zumas has produced a poignant, wickedly sharp classic’ Alissa Nutting, author of Tampa