The Light We Lost

The Light We Lost

Jill Santopolo

ISBN
9780008224578
Pub date
18/05/2017
Imprint
HQ
Binding
Paperback
Format
Trade Paperback 153x234mm
Extent
320 pages
Price
£12.99

Book Overview


11th September 2001. Lucy and Gabe meet at Columbia University on a day that will change their lives – and the world – forever. And as the city burns behind them, they kiss for the very first time.

Over the next thirteen years they are torn apart, then brought back together, time and time again. It’s a journey of dreams, of desires, of jealousy, of forgiveness – and above all, love.

And as Lucy is faced with a decision she thought she’d never have to make, she wonders whether their love is a matter of destiny, or chance. What if they should have been living a different life all along?

Me Before You meets One Day in this passionate debut novel, The Light We Lost, an epic love story about the heartrending decision that one woman must make…

About the author


Jill Santopolo received an MFA in fiction writing, is the author of three successful children’s and young-adult series, and works as the editorial director of Philomel Books. An adjunct professor in The New School’s MFA program, she travels the world to speak about writing and storytelling. You can visit her online at www.jillsantopolo.com or follow her on Twitter at @jillsantopolo. She lives in New York City.

Reviews


‘A stunning book, perfect and unputdownable.’ JILL MANSELL

‘Our book of the year to date!’ HELLO MAGAZINE

‘A proper heartbreaker of a novel… Warning: you will big ugly cry while reading this one.’ RED MAGAZINE

‘An epic love story.’ PRIMA MAGAZINE

‘A one-sitting kind of book. Fans of One Day by David Nicholls will love this.’ STYLIST MAGAZINE

‘Surely the next great romantic epic… It is a novel that lives with you long after the final page. A book for a generation and a future classic.’ THE SUN

‘Emotional and heartbreaking. I predict a global tissue shortage. The Light We Lost will definitely join the ranks of books that make you weep.’ SARAH MORGAN, bestselling author of MIRACLE ON 5TH AVENUE

‘Beautiful writing. An unputdownable tearjerker.’ SUNDAY EXPRESS

‘Your new tearjerker has arrived: Fans of Me Before You and One Day will love/weep over this elegant novel.’ NEW YORK POST

‘One Day meets Me Before You meets your weekender bag.’ THE SKIMM

‘Stunning’ LIZ FENWICK, author of UNDER A CORNISH SKY

‘An affecting and beautifully-written story about love and missed chances, and how global events can change the course of a single person’s life.’ JULIE COHEN, author of TOGETHER

‘A heart-wrenching love story… impossible for the reader to put the damned book down!’ IRISH INDEPENDENT

‘An emotional rollercoaster.’ US WEEKLY

‘It’s the epic love story of 2017.’ REDBOOK