PaxHarperCollins today sees a selection of our authors and illustrators nominated for the highly prestigious CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway 2017 Medals – the oldest award and accolade in Children’s literature.

The Carnegie Medal is awarded by children’s librarians across the UK for an outstanding book for young children and young people; the Kate Greenaway medal is awarded to an outstanding illustrator. Previous winners include: Terry Pratchett, Patrick Ness and Sharon Creech. You can see a list of all the nominations here.

Nominated for the Carnegie Medal:

Alice Oseman – Radio Silence
Sara Pennypacker (author), Jon Klassen (illustrator) – Pax
Ross Welford – Time Travelling With a Hamster

Nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal:

Benji Davies (illustrator), Jory John (author) – I Love you Already!
Oliver Jeffers (illustrator), Eoin Colfer (author) – Imaginary Fred
Sara Pennypacker (author), Jon Klassen (illustrator) – Pax