082242-FC3D-300x300HarperCollins today sees eight of our authors and illustrators nominated for the highly prestigious CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway 2016 Medals – the oldest award and accolade in Children’s literature.

The Carnegie Medal is awarded by children’s librarians across the UK for an outstanding book for young children and young people; the Kate Greenaway medal is awarded to an outstanding illustrator. Previous winners include: Terry Pratchett, Patrick Ness and Sharon Creech. You can view the full shortlist here. You can see a list of all the nominations here.

Nominated for the Carnegie Medal:

Jenny Valentine Fire Colour One
David Walliams (author) and Tony Ross (illustrator) Awful Auntie
Robin Talley – Lies We Tell Ourselves

Nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal:

Rob Biddulph – Grrrrr!
Emma Chichester Clark – Bears Don’t Read
Benji Davies (illustrator) and John Jory (author) – Goodnight Already!
Oliver Jeffers — Once Upon An Alphabet
Oliver Jeffers (illustrator) and Drew Daywalt (author) The Day the Crayons Came Home