Blood Heir

Blood Heir

Amélie Wen Zhao

ISBN
9780008328047
Pub date
17/09/2020
Imprint
HarperVoyager
Binding
Paperback
Format
B Format 129x198mm
Extent
464 pages
Price
£8.99
Download jacket

Book Overview


BLOOD HEIR is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the conman she must trust to clear her name of murder.

Ana has lived her life in safety, hidden behind palace walls, but that wasn’t just for her own protection.

She is one of the Affinites, people reviled for their magical gifts, which allow them to control the world around them. And Ana, the crown princess of Cyrilia, has an Affinity to blood.

After her father’s brutal murder, all evidence points to Ana. If she’s to have any hope of clearing her name she’ll need help. And there is only one person corrupt enough to help her – Ramson Quicktongue.

A cunning, smooth-talking crime lord of the Cyrilian underworld, Ramson has his own sinister plans – though he might have met his match in Ana.

Because in this story, the princess might be the most dangerous player of them all.

About the author


Amélie (yes, like the movie!) has adored putting pen to paper since she was in kindergarten. Born in Paris and raised in a multicultural community in Beijing, Amélie has a bone-deep love for traveling and immersing herself in new worlds and cultures. She lives in New York City, working as a full-time financial professional by day, and writer at night.She hopes to empower young readers with messages of acceptance, strength, and courage through her works, and to continue to push the boundaries of young adult literature by exploring new, cross-cultural themes.

Reviews


  • ‘Zhao shines in the fast-paced and vivid combat scenes, which lend a cinematic quality that pulls readers in’NYT Book Review
  • ‘BLOOD HEIR is cinematic storytelling at its best. A stunning new voice in YA, Amélie Wen Zhao has drawn characters who are as complex and captivating as the fantastical world she’s built. Get ready for a retelling like you’ve never seen before’Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of SKY IN THE DEEP and THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK
  • ‘Sure to keep readers turning pages…Perfect for fans of Amy Tintera or Sarah J. Maas, but readers should prepare for plenty of heartbreak’Booklist
  • ‘[A] pointed exploration into the consequences of exploitation and the defining nature of choices’Publishers Weekly
  • ‘Ana is not the typical damsel in distress’Kirkus