Pizza Girl

Pizza Girl

Jean Kyoung Frazier

ISBN
9780008356415
Pub date
17/09/2020
Imprint
HQ
Binding
Hardback
Format
Demy 135x204mm
Extent
208 pages
Price
£12.99
Download jacket

Book Overview


Named a most anticipated book of 2020 by Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, Elle, Marie Claire, Time, People, BuzzFeed, Bustle, and more. Perfect for fans of Normal People and Fleabag

Great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit’ Richard Ford

Eighteen years old, pregnant, and working as a pizza delivery girl, our dysfunctional heroine is deeply lost and in complete denial about it all. She’s grieving the death of her father, avoiding her loving boyfriend, and flagrantly ignoring her future.

Her world is further upended when she becomes obsessed with Jenny, a stay-at-home mother new to the neighbourhood, who comes to depend on weekly deliveries of pickle-covered pizzas for her son’s happiness.

As one woman looks toward motherhood and the other toward middle age, the relationship between the two begins to blur in strange, complicated, and ultimately heartbreaking ways.

Bold, tender, and unexpected, Pizza Girl is a moving and funny portrait of a flawed, unforgettable young woman as she tries to find her place in the world.

’Fresh, funny, bittersweet’ New York Times

‘Bristles with biting wit and optimism, each page a feast of Cheeto-fingered heart, humor, and lyricism’ Esquire

‘Funny, fast-moving and essential… You will devour it’ Lara Williams, author of Supper Club

About the author


JEAN KYOUNG FRAZIER lives in Los Angeles. Pizza Girl is her debut novel.

Reviews


  • ‘Messy, funny, dark, with characters who feel so real you’d swear you know them already. A truly original coming-of-age tale that feels both fresh and familiar’ Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City
  • ‘A sublime ode to obsessive outcasts and lovable screw-ups everywhere, Pizza Girl is irresistible and bold, brutal and sweet, with an ending that will thrash your heart’ Kimberly King Parsons, author of Black Light
  • ‘Riotously funny’ Elle
  • ’Fresh, funny, bittersweet’ New York Times
  • ‘This quirky, moody novel delivers in unexpected ways’ People
  • ‘Bristles with biting wit and optimism, each page a feast of Cheeto-fingered heart, humor, and lyricism’ Esquire
  • ‘A funny, fast-moving and essential coming-of-age novel. A sticky and feverish story about obsession, desire, grief, motherhood and need. You will devour it’ Lara Williams, author of Supper Club
  • ‘Frazier’s characters are raw and her dialogue startlingly observant … will appeal to fans of Halle Butler and Ottessa Moshfegh’ Pubilsher’s Weekly
  • ‘A simultaneously riotous and heartbreaking coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Halle Butler and Elif Batuman’ Harper’s Bazaar
  • ‘Tense and tender … A bittersweet bildungsroman about life’s random turns and the struggle to survive in suburban LA’ Kirkus
  • ‘Jean Kyoung Frazier, a blazing new voice in fiction, has given us a sly, poignant glimpse into the wilds of suburbia, where intergenerational queer love and alienation from labor go hand  in hand’ Andrea Lawlor
  • ‘To Pizza Girl, Jean Kyoung Frazier brings a flawless ear for language, great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit. This novel has immense appeal’ Richard Ford
  • ‘Jean Kyoung Frazier will make you laugh with one sentence and break your heart with the next. A delicious debut’ Julia Phillips, author of Disappearing Earth
  • ‘Luminous, brooding, and, frankly, awe-inspiring’ Bryan Washington