The Girl and the Ghost

The Girl and the Ghost

ISBN
9780062940964
Pub date
31/03/2022
Imprint
HarperColl
Binding
Paperback
Format
B Format 130x194mm
Extent
288 pages
Price
£6.99
Download jacket

Book Overview


This critically-acclaimed middle grade ghost story, called “a fascinating, page-turning tale” in a starred Kirkus review and “unapologetically—and beautifully—Malaysian” by Booklist, follows a young girl who inherits a ghost from her witch grandmother, in a chilling but heartfelt adventure perfect for fans of Holly Black and Tahereh Mafi.

* Chosen as a 2020 Kirkus Prize Finalist for Young Readers’ Literature! *

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Reviews