The Memory Palace

The Memory Palace

Christie Dickason

ISBN
9780007333844
Pub date
01/08/2009
Imprint
HarperCollins
Binding
Paperback
Format
B Format 129x198mm
Extent
512 pages
Price
£14.99
Download jacket

Book Overview


An epic love story set in the period of Music and Silence, for readers of Rose Tremain and Philippa Gregory.

1639. Zeal Beester, mistress of the rolling Hampshire estate of Hawkridge, is pregnant, unwed, and the King has banished her lover to the New World. The Puritan Praise-God Gifford will have her burnt at the stake for depravity.

To save herself and the child, Zeal becomes the wife of Philip Wentworth, an ageing soldier and adventurer. But Philip’s extraordinary tales of El Dorado only remind her of her exiled lover.

As the chaos of Civil War approaches, Zeal begins to rebuild Hawkridge House as the Memory Palace and the secret map of her heart. Part maze, part theatre, part great country house, it enrages the Puritans and inspires in one twisted soul a hatred and envy that only death will satisfy.

Should the King be killed, Zeal’s lover may return only to find Zeal and the child in their graves…

About the author


Christie Dickason was born in America but also lived as a child in Thailand, Mexico and Switzerland. Harvard-educated, and a former theatre director and choreographer (with the Royal Shakespeare Company and at Ronnie Scott’s among others), she lives in London with her family.

Reviews