The Runaway Orphans

The Runaway Orphans

Pam Weaver

ISBN
9780008366230
Pub date
09/06/2022
Imprint
Avon
Binding
Paperback
Format
B Format 129x198mm
Extent
400 pages
Price
£7.99
Download jacket

Book Overview


‘This book was impossible to put down once I started it. It was heartbreaking and heartwarming all at the same time’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Two sisters. One secret. A daring wartime journey…

Desperate to escape their stepfather’s house, sisters Amy and Lillian stow away aboard a train full of children being evacuated from London and the threat of Hitler’s bombs.

Arriving in the seaside town of Worthing, they are taken in by kindly Norah and her husband Jim.

With their future now entrusted to strangers, can the girls finally find a safe harbour in these dark days of war?

And will they find the strength to confront what they have been running from, when their past finally catches up with them?

An absolutely heartbreaking and uplifting wartime story of courage, sisterhood and the power of love. Perfect for fans of Shirley Dickson, Glynis Peters and Lisa Wingate.

Readers love The Runaway Orphans:

A very emotional book and had me in tearsExcellent 5*’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Such an emotional book… War family saga at its best… Absolutely brilliant’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I loved this book… Gripping and emotional. Once I started it, I didn’t want to put it down and read it in two sittings’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read this in one sitting. What an enjoyable read as usual from Pam Weaver… Great read’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the author


Pam Weaver is married with grown-up children. Her first novel, There’s Always Tomorrow was published by Avon in 2011 to great success. Since then she has published many more novels, becoming a Sunday Times bestseller a number of times over. She lives in Worthing.

Reviews


  • PRAISE FOR PAM WEAVER:
  • ‘A heartrending story about mothers and daughters’ Kitty Neale
  • ‘What a terrific read – saga fans everywhere will love it and be asking for more from this talented author.’ Annie Groves
  • ‘The characters are so richly drawn and authentic that they pull the reader along through the story effortlessly. This book is a real page turner, which I enjoyed very much.’ Anne Bennett