This Woven Kingdom

This Woven Kingdom

Tahereh Mafi

ISBN
9780755500093
Pub date
04/08/2022
Imprint
Electric Monkey
Binding
Paperback
Format
B Format 129x198mm
Extent
512 pages
Price
£8.99
Download jacket

Book Overview


Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—New York Times bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first novel in this epic, romantic fantasy series inspired by Persian mythology.

To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.

The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom – and the world.

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author, Tahereh Mafi.

‘Gut-wrenchingly beautiful.’Kirkus Reviews

“In a tale as exquisitely crafted as one of Alizeh’s own garments, Mafi weaves a spell of destiny and danger, forbidden love and courtly intrigue, magic and revolution.”—Cassandra Clare, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Hours

‘This story is so magical and transportive that I fully expected the book would know the moment I’d finished – within hours, no less – and promptly unravel into a pile of jewels and silks in my hands. Mafi’s diamond-bright lyrical voice weaves a tale that is gilded in magic, laced with subterfuge, adorned with the brocade of a tortuous romance, and richly embroidered with Persian mythology. I cannot wait for more.’ – Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

About the author


Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world. She currently lives in California, with her husband, Ransom Riggs, fellow bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children, and their young daughter. You can find her online just about anywhere @Tahereh or on her website, www.taherehmafi.com

Reviews


  • “In a tale as exquisitely crafted as one of Alizeh’s own garments, Mafi weaves a spell of destiny and danger, forbidden love and courtly intrigue, magic and revolution.”—Cassandra Clare, #1 NYT bestselling author of The Last Hours
  • “This story is so magical and transportive that I fully expected the book would know the moment I’d finished — within hours, no less — and promptly unravel into a pile of jewels and silks in my hands. Mafi’s diamond-bright lyrical voice weaves a tale that is gilded in magic, laced with subterfuge, adorned with the brocade of a tortuous romance, and richly embroidered with Persian mythology. I cannot wait for more.”—Roshani Chokshi, NYT bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves
  • “This Woven Kingdom is an exquisite fantasy. Rich with clever prose, delicious twists, and breathtaking world building. Prepare to be destroyed—this one will wrench at your heart and make it pound, and in the end it will leave you entirely speechless.”—Stephanie Garber, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Caraval series
  • “I’ve been longing to read a story inspired by The Shahnameh, and This Woven Kingdom captivated me with its deft worldbuilding and searing romance. Alizeh’s quiet strength unfurls against a darkly magical backdrop. This book is a glittering jewel, complete with razor-sharp edges.’ –Renée Ahdieh, NYT bestselling author of Wrath & the Dawn
  • ‘Richly textured, descriptive prose coupled with agonizing romance combine in this fantastical epic. Gut-wrenchingly beautiful.’ – Kirkus Reviews
  • “In a heart-wrenching novel, Mafi complements rich worldbuilding with lushly descriptive, sensorial prose that inspires the novel’s mythological backdrop, against which plays out an emotional plot, and a tortured romance, layered with court intrigue.” – Publishers Weekly “Tahereh Mafi continues her reign as a master of YA fantasy” – PopSugar “[An] illustrious tale of magic, court intrigue, and romance. Captivating readers from the very first chapter” – Booklist