Jeffrey Archer was born in London on 15 April 1940, the son of a printer, and brought up in Somerset. He was educated at Wellington School, Somerset, and Brasenose College, Oxford, where he gained an athletics blue, was President of the University Athletics Club, and went on to run the 100 yards in 9.6 seconds for Great Britain in 1966.

After leaving Oxford he was elected to the GLC in 1966 as its youngest member and three years later at the age of 29, he became the youngest Member of Parliament (for Louth). After five years he resigned from the House of Commons aged 34, and wrote his first novel ‘Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less’. Jeffrey Archer ‘s latest book, ‘The Fourth Estate’, based on the lives of Rupert Murdoch and Robert Maxwell, was published on 7 May 1996. His ‘Collected Short Stories’ was published in November 1997, and ‘The Eleventh Commandment’ was published on 1 May 1998.

Now published in 64 countries and 21 languages, Jeffrey Archer is firmly established, with international sales passing one hundred and twenty million copies.

Jeffrey Archer was Deputy Chariman of the Conservative Party from September 1985 until November 1986. After the General Election of 1987 he wrote his first play ‘Beyond Reasonable Doubt’ which ran at the Queen’s Theatre, in London’s West End for 600 performances.

In 1991 he was co-ordinator for the Campaign for Kurdish Relief which raised over fifty-seven million pounds for the Kurdish people.

Jeffrey Archer was made a Life Peer in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List of 1992.

He is President of the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association, Patron of The Youth Sports Trust, and the Small Business Bureau, and is President of the Wyverns, Somerset Cricket Supporters.

Jeffrey Archer lives in London and at The Old Vicarage in Grantchester with his wife, Mary, and their two sons, Will and James.

Books by Jeffrey Archer

Over My Dead Body
William Warwick Book 5
Over My Dead Body
Over My Dead Body
Over My Dead Body